M.S, Dhoni marches on to the field after a wrong no-ball decision by the umpire in IPL 2019!

BCCI has introduced three exciting rules to further take the world’s most-watched cricket league to the next level come IPL 2020. They have attempted to make the matches even more interesting by adding these rules.

So here are the rules:

1. Powerplayer: This is by far the most exciting rule of the lot in my opinion.

What is Powerplayer?
The powerplayer is a unique concept, where the teams will announce 15 players instead of 11 players for a match.

How will the rule work?
The rule will allow each team to substitute a player at the fall of a wicket or the end of an over at any point in the match.

Let me explain this with an example:
Imagine Mumbai Indians needed 20 runs off the last over and they have Kieron Pollard or Chris Lynn sitting in the dug-out as he wasn’t fit or wasn’t part of the original playing XI. But with the powerplayer rule, he can just come in and even win Mumbai the game.

powerplayer kieron pollard

Similarly, imagine, Mumbai Indians needing to defend just 6 runs of the last over and they have Jasprit Bumrah or Lasith Malinga sitting in the dug-out. They can come into the ground and bowl the last over of the match and win the match to Mumbai Indians if possible.

This is a very interesting concept and if this concept becomes a reality, it will take the excitement level of T20 matches and IPL to the next level.

Just imagine both the batting and fielding teams bringing in a power player in the last over of the match with 12 runs to win and one wicket left.

This powerplayer concept will just make the matches even more dynamic and the teams have to be extremely strategic on how to use their power-players in the matches.

Also Read:

Road Safety World Series 2020: Fixtures, schedule, venues, squads, match timings, and live streaming details
What are a few disadvantages of the Powerplayer rule?
It will take away the efforts of the batting or bowling team till the time a power player takes the field. If the bowling team is trying to defend a total of 130 and they have brought the opposition down to 110-9 and a power player comes in and wins the batting team from that position, it would sometimes feel unfair for the bowling side’s performance till 110-9.

The powerplayer concept hasn’t been implemented anywhere yet. It was expected to be implemented in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy but due to time constraints, it did not happen.

Although it is still not confirmed whether the Powerplayer rule will be introduced in IPL 2020. The only way this rule will be implemented is by the consent of The BCCI President Sourav Ganguly.

Let’s just sit back and hope that this rule comes to life come IPL 2020 starting on March 29.

2.No Ball Umpire:
After a long list of controversies in the last season from Virat Kohli slamming the umpires after a wrong no-ball decision in a league stage match between Mumbai Indians to Royal Challengers Bangalore to M.S.Dhoni walking down to the field after a wrong decision on a over waist height no-ball vs Rajasthan Royals, it has been decided by the BCCI to bring in a No-Ball Umpire.

Also, Learn about Pakistan Premier League (PSL) 2020: Everything you need to know!

No-ball is only checked when the teams use DRS or when the on-field umpire takes the matter to the third umpire but starting from IPL 2020 just like in international cricket, we will see a specialized umpire for checking the no-balls on every ball.

3. Super Over Rule:
The super overrule of world cup 2019, created heavy controversies after the final between England and New Zealand where the winner of the super over after a tie in the super over was adjudged based on the number of boundaries scored by the teams.

A similar instance also happened in the IPL way back 2014, when Rajasthan Royals faced Kolkata Knight Riders in a group stage match when the first half of the tournament was conducted in UAE. This boundary rule was applicable then and most people were unaware of it.

Also Read: IPL 2020 Players List: Complete Squads of all eight teams after auction

Rajasthan required 3 runs of the last ball with Narine bowling and Steve Smith batting. He just tapped the ball to deep extra cover which was enough for them to get a two and the super over tied again! Both teams scored 11 but Rajasthan won based on the boundary count.

But from now on, if a super over is tied, the winner will be not adjudged based on the number of boundaries scored by each team. The winner will be adjudged by conducting another super over. If the super over is tied again, then another super over will be played, until the winner is found out.

Read More:

The Hundred: Understanding the 100-Ball Format in Cricket !!!

6 Indians and No Pakistanis are a part of the Asia XI-World XI T20I Series

MyTeam11: Complete Guide (Referral Code included!)

Dream11: Complete Guide (Coupon Code included!)



India vs Pakistan in 2020: Asia Cup 2020 to be held in Dubai!

Previous article

India’s dream come true: Maiden Women’s T20 World Cup final after washout!

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in IPL T20