BCCI president Sourav Ganguly has announced that Asia Cup 2020 will be held in Dubai and both India and Pakistan will play.

The last time India and Pakistan faced each other in a bilateral series was in 2012-13. Due to political issues between the two nations, they haven’t competed in a bilateral series since then.

Pakistan won the three-match ODI series by 2-1 and the two-match T20I series was drawn by 1-1 in 2012-13 tour of Pakistan to India.

Also Read Pakistan Premier League (PSL) 2020: Everything you need to know!

It was Pakistan who was supposed to host the tournament but India isn’t willing to travel Pakistan. India had no problem with Pakistan hosting the Asia Cup, as long as they held the tournament at a neutral venue.

As per the Asia Cup is concerned, India has won the most number of titles (7) followed by Sri Lanka (5) and the last two Asia cups have been also won by India (2016,2018).

The Asia Cup hasn’t been hosted by Pakistan since 2008. It is played once every two years. Sri Lanka hosted the 2010 edition while Bangladesh hosted the next three editions. The last Asia Cup took place in the UAE.

In 2016, the ICC announced that Asia Cup events from 2016 would be played on a rotation basis between ODIs and T20Is format, on the basis of the format of the upcoming ICC world events. And due to that reason, the 2016 edition was the first time when the teams played in a T20I format and it functioned as a preparatory tournament ahead of the 2016 World T20.

Also, Read Road Safety World Series 2020: Fixtures, schedule, venues, squads, match timings and live streaming details

India has played Pakistan in each and every ICC event since then in some or the other way. In 2013, India beat Pakistan in the group stages of the Champions Trophy. In 2014, India beat Pakistan in the group stages of the World T20. In 2015, Again India defeated Pakistan in the group stages with Kohli being the hero in that match. The first time after four years Pakistan came to India for World T20 in 2016 and again India defeated Pakistan in the Super 10s.

But in Champions Trophy 2017, India and Pakistan faced each other twice in the tournament. India won the group stages match convincingly but Pakistan won the final comfortably. In 2019, India defeated Pakistan in the group stages of the World Cup.

“Pakistan last defeated India in Asia Cup 2014 in a must-watch gave where India was eventually knocked out of the tournament.”

As of Now, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan are ICC Full members and hence directly qualify to play in the Asia Cup 2020. The Qualifiers for the Last slot of the tournament will take place in Malaysia in August 2020.







Pakistan Premier League (PSL) 2020: Everything you need to know!

Previous article

‘Powerplayer’: Exciting new rules for IPL 2020?

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Top Stories